Wednesday, August 20, 2014

Livers, Eden, and Collins: Spotlight on the 2014 IWC Creative Writing Conference Presenters Continues!

Paulette Livers will present "Creating Emotional Back Story"

Paulette Livers’ debut novel, Cementville, published by Counterpoint Press, won, along with Joyce Carol Oates and Isabel Allende, Elle magazine’s Lettres Prize 2014. In addition, Livers has received awards, residencies, and fellowships from the Artcroft Foundation, Aspen Writers Foundation, the Bedell Foundation, Center for the American West, Denver Women’s Press Club, Key West Literary Seminars, and Ox-Bow Artist Residence. The recipient of the 2012 David Nathan Meyerson Prize for Fiction, her work has also been shortlisted for awards from Britain’s Bridport Prize, Hunger Mountain, Writers at Work, and the Sozopol Summer Literary Seminars. Along with Honorable Mentions for the Red Hen Press Short Story Award in 2011 and 2012 and the Kentucky Women Writers Conference’s Gabehart Prize in 2013, her stories have appeared in the Southwest Review, The Dos Passos Review, and Spring Gun Press, among others, and may be heard at the audio-journal Bound Off. A Kentucky native, she has lived and worked around the US, and now calls Chicago home.  For additional information about this presenter, please see:

Meg Eden will present "Lit Mags aren't Dead Yet! Networking through Publication"

Meg Eden's work has been published in various magazines including B O D Y, Drunken Boat, Mudfish, and Rock & Sling, nominated for a Pushcart Prize, received second place in the 2014 Ian MacMillan Fiction contest, and the 2012 Henrietta Spiegel Creative Writing Award. Eden’s collections include Your Son (The Florence Kahn Memorial Award), Rotary Phones and Facebook (Dancing Girl Press), and The Girl Who Came Back (Red Bird Chapbooks). She teaches at the University of Maryland and will be a visiting writer at AACC in 2014. Check out her work at:
Kate Collins will present "The Art of Conversation: Tame the Tag Monster and Make Your Dialogue Sparkle"

Kate Collins is the New York Times bestselling author of the Flower Shop Mystery series. An Indiana native, Collins graduated from Purdue University with a Master's degree in education. She taught elementary school for six years, but after the birth of her first child, gave up teaching to pursue a long-time dream of putting her stories to paper. After publishing a series of short children’s stories, she sold her first historical romantic suspense novel in 1995. Since then, she has published twenty-four books, including fifteen mysteries.  Please see for further details.  Collins, a longtime IWC member, gave the keynote speech at its first annual networking dinner in 2008.

For the full conference schedule, please see:


No comments:

Post a Comment